• Personal Advice
  • Free Worldwide Shipping from 500€
  • Curated Selection
  • Personal Service

    Call us:

    +49 (0) 511 16 97 700

    Come visit our store and let us advise you personally:

    Michael Jondral
    Theaterstr. 13
    30159 Hanover
    Open:
    Tuesday-Friday: 10:00-19:00
    Saturday: 10:00-16:00

    Contact us by email:
    shop@michaeljondral.com

    Contact & Service

James Lock

Lock & Co. 

With a hat or a tweed cap by James Lock you will receive a piece of headwear from no one less than the oldest hat shop in the world! If that does not convey enough "Heritage", then it should also be mentioned at this point that it is one of the oldest family businesses at all. More specifically, Lock & Co. Hatters is listed on place 34.

The company was founded in 1676 by Robert Davis. His son Charles continued the business and in 1747, he hired James Lock - who should become name giver later on - as an apprentice. The shop was later forward to Lock by his master in 1759.

To this day, the Lock family continues to work there - still at the 6 St James Street, London! So the 6th St. James Street is still the address of the Royal Hatter and bears the coats of arms of the Duke of Edinburgh and the Prince of Wales.

By the way, the Duke of Windsor - one of the greatest style icons of the last century - was one of the best customers of the house and brought the name into the world.

James Lock Hats

A true gentleman always wore a hat on his head until the 20th century.

But why does a gentleman actually wear a hat? Since the 17th century it is a question that kept many people busy. The answer is as concise as it is simple: A man of the world wears a hat so that he can take it off when it is needed!

With this maxim in mind, Lock & Co. Hatters equips the fine society of London.

The collection has the entire repertoire of headwear and yet we would like to point out the most important and smartest model made by James Lock:

A wonderful trilby named "Voyager". A rollable hat made of rabbit felt, which can be brought into a personal shape by its wearer.

Whether fedora, trilby or a flatter, similar to the pork pie headgear, the "Voyager" will be your faithful companion. See for yourself!

The Bowler Hat - A Hat for a Gentleman!

Above all, the London-based company is responsible for the emergence of the so-called "Bowler Hat".

In 1849, Edward Coke, an English landowner, ordered a hat for his game warden from hatter James Lock. Edward Coke wanted a low and above all stable hat for his staff for the purpose of hunting. The worn top hats were repeatedly pushed down by branches while riding. Edward Coke wanted this to be changed.
So the rest is history and Lock & Co. Hatters became worldwide known with the production of this hat! Covered in rabbithair felt and hardened shellac, this stiff, indestructible headgear became a symbol of the British hat!
The list of well-known clients ranges from Charlie Chaplin to Oscar Wilde and Douglas Fairbanks Jr. - the son of the style icon of the young Cary Grant, who incidentally lived in an apartment directly above the shop. As you can see, you are in the best and most exclusive company.

Visa MasterCard Amex PayPal

© 2018 Michael Jondral

James Lock

Lock & Co. 

Mit einem Hut oder einer Tweedkappe von James Lock erhalten Sie eine Kopfbekleidung von keinem geringeren, als dem ältesten Hut Shop der Welt! Falls das nicht genug „Heritage“ vermittelt, dann sei an dieser Stelle zudem erwähnt, dass es sich hierbei um eines der ältesten Familienunternehmen überhaupt handelt. Genauer gesagt belegt Lock & Co. Hatters Platz 34.

Das Unternehmen wurde im Jahre 1676 von Robert Davis gegründet. Sein Sohn Charles setzte das Geschäft fort und nahm im Jahre 1747 James Lock - den späteren Namensgeber - als Lehrling auf. Letzterem wurde auch im Jahre 1759 das Unternehmen von seinem Meister vererbt.

Bis zum heutigen Tage führt die Familie Lock dieses weiter - wohlgemerkt immer noch im Laden in der 6 St. James Street, London! So ist die 6 St. James Street bis heute die Adresse des königlichen Hutmachers und trägt die Wappen des Duke of Edinburgh und des Prince of Wales.

Übrigens war der Duke of Windsor - eine der grössten Stilikonen des letzten Jahrhunderts - einer der besten Kunden des Hauses und brachte den Namen in die Welt.

James Lock Hüte

Ein Gentleman, der etwas auf sich hielt trug bis in das 20. Jahrhundert hinein einen Hut auf dem Kopf.

Doch warum trägt ein Gentleman eigentlich einen Hut? Seit dem 17. Jahrhundert eine Frage, die viele beschäftigte. Dabei ist die Antwort gleichermaßen prägnant, wie simpel: Der Mann von Welt trägt einen Hut, damit er ihn abnehmen kann, wenn es sich schickt!

Mit dieser Maxime im Kopf behütet Lock & Co. Hatters die feine Londoner Gesellschaft.

Die Kollektion verfügt über das gesamte Repertoire der Hutmacherkunst und doch möchten wir im Besonderen auf das wohl wichtigste und smarteste Modell aus dem Hause James Lock hinweisen:

Einen wunderbaren Trilby mit dem Namen "Voyager". Ein rollbarer Hut aus Kaninchenfilz, der sich von seinem Träger in eine persönliche Form bringen lässt.

Ob Fedora, Trilby oder eine flachere, dem Pork Pie ähnliche Kopfbedeckung, der "Voyager" wird Ihnen zu einem treuen Begleiter. Überzeugen Sie sich selbst!

Die Melone - Ein Hut für den Gentleman! 

Allem voran ist das londoner Unternehmen für die Entstehung des so genannten Bowler Hats - bei uns besser bekannt unter dem Stichwort „Melone“ - verantwortlich.

Im Jahre 1849 bestellte Edward Coke, ein englischer Landbesitzer, bei dem Hutmacher James Lock einen Hut für seine Jagdaufseher. Edward Coke wollte für sein Personal zum Zwecke der Jagd einen niedrigen und vor allem stabil auf dem Kopf sitzenden Hut. Die getragenen Zylinderhüte wurden beim Reiten immer wieder durch Äste heruntergestoßen. Diesen Umstand wollte Edward Coke geändert wissen.

So ist der Rest Geschichte und Lock & Co. Hatters wurde mit der Produktion dieses Hutes weltweit bekannt! Mit Hasenhaarfilz bezogen und Schellack gehärtet, wurde diese steife, unzerstörbare Kopfbedeckung zum Symbol des britischen Hutes!

Die Liste der namenhaften Kunden reicht von Charlie Chaplin bis hin zu Oscar Wilde und Douglas Fairbanks Jr. - dem Sohn vom Stilvorbild des jungen Cary Grant, welcher übrigens in einer Wohnung direkt über dem Shop wohnte. Wie Sie sehen, befinden Sie sich in bester & exklusiver Gesellschaft.